Monday, 30 May 2016

Navaratnas and their Astrological Significance

Navaratna is a Sanskrit word which means "nine gems". Jewelry created in this style has important cultural significance in Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, and Sikhism, and among other religions. Yet such importance is given to this combination of nine gems that they are recognized as sacred and royal in almost all the countries. In Thailand, the Navaratna is officially recognized as a national and royal symbol of the king.

The traditional setting and arrangement of these nine gems is shown in the illustration. A ruby (representing the Sun) is always in the center, surrounded (clockwise from the top) by a diamond, a natural pearl, red coral, hessonite, a blue sapphire, cat's eye, a yellow sapphire, and an emerald. This is the same placement as the Nava-graha Yantra.

The placement of the navagrahas in one’s horoscope supposedly has an influence throughout an individual's life. Wearing the nine gems is said to provide an astrological balance and benefit to the wearer. Hindu astrology also says that these gems potentially may have both positive and negative influences on human life, and that astrological gems should be worn only after consulting a Vedic astrologer.
Every sign of the zodiac is ruled by a planet and every planet has an associated gemstone, which in turn has the powers to harness the power of the cosmic rays associated with that particular planet and elevate a individual’s emotional, mental and materials status.

For exciting career in Jewellery Designing Industry, get enrolled into SDI's Certificate and Diploma Programs.

Article by
Keerthana nayak k
Jewellery instructor

No comments:

Post a Comment